First Program Guide

PGA Jr League Explained for Parents

PGA Jr. League is team golf for players 17 and under. Pairs play nine-hole scramble matches for a local team led by a PGA or LPGA coach, and PGA Jr. League says no prior golf experience is required. The Tri-State PGA Section says 2027 player registration opens on November 13, 2026. PGA Jr. League's national site had not announced a date when we checked on October 11, 2026. A local program can open later, and each coach sets the program fee.

Foundations

For Golf Parents · Updated October 11, 2026

The short version

  • PGA Jr. League is team golf for players 17 and under: pairs play a two-person scramble in nine-hole matches, on a local team led by a PGA or LPGA coach.
  • PGA Jr. League says all skill levels are welcome and no prior golf experience is required. There are three age divisions: 9u, 13u and 17u.
  • The Tri-State PGA Section says 2027 player registration opens nationwide on November 13, 2026. PGA Jr. League's national site had not announced a date on October 11, 2026, and a local program can open later, so check the Find a Program page and ask the coach.
  • There are two fees: the national #GameChanger Club membership, listed at $120 per player per calendar year on October 11, 2026, and a local program fee that each coach sets.

What PGA Jr. League is

PGA Jr. League, a program of the PGA of America REACH Foundation, is team golf for players ages 17 and younger. Each player joins a local team, and teams are grouped into a league so that games can be played and standings kept. A league can sit at one facility, with several teams under one coach, or span several facilities whose teams visit each other’s courses.

Every game uses a two-person scramble. Both players in a pair hit a tee shot, the pair picks the better one, both play from that spot, and they repeat that until the ball is holed. A pair plays a nine-hole match against a pair from the other team. The match is split into three “flags” of three holes, with a point at stake on each flag.

Players wear numbered team jerseys. Each team is led by a PGA Coach, who under the 2026 Conditions of Play must be a PGA or LPGA Member, Associate or Student, pass a background screening and complete abuse-prevention training. Those Conditions of Play are recommendations for local league play, so a coach can adjust the format for younger or newer players, for example with two-hole flags in a six-hole match.

In its January 14, 2026 registration announcement, PGA Jr. League said it had welcomed more than half a million players since 2013, including a record of more than 80,000 the year before.

Source: PGA Jr. League, How It Works and the 2026 Conditions of Play, checked October 11, 2026.

Who can start, and the three age divisions

PGA Jr. League’s How It Works page says all skill levels are welcome and no prior golf experience is required. It makes that statement about the program as a whole and names all three age divisions in the same passage. It sets no experience requirement for 13u or 17u.

A division is set by age, not ability. PGA’s registration help page says division eligibility is based on the player’s age on July 31 of the program year:

DivisionAge on July 31 of the program year
9u9 or younger
13u13 or younger
17u17 or younger

Source: PGA of America, Player Registration (PGA Jr. League), checked October 11, 2026. Its own examples: a player who turns 14 on August 1 is still eligible for 13u that year, and a player who turns 10 on July 30 is not eligible for 9u.

  • 9u. New in 2026. How It Works describes it as a fun-focused, recreational league with shortened holes, and practices and games designed for the youngest players. PGA’s summary of 2026 rule changes says 9u is local league play only.
  • 13u. How It Works says the minimum age is determined by the facility, and asks families to confirm it with the PGA Coach before registering.
  • 17u. How It Works describes this division as designed for ages 14 to 17.

The pages we read set no national minimum age: for 13u the facility decides, and no minimum is given for 9u. The Find a Program page shows the age range each program accepts beside its division, and those ranges differ from one program to the next. A program can also limit who registers: the registration help page lists programs that need an access code from the coach and programs open only to members of the host club.

When registration opens for 2027

Player registration for the 2027 season opens on November 13, 2026, according to the Tri-State PGA Section, one of the PGA of America’s 41 Sections. Its PGA Jr. League page, which is written for the Section’s coaches, says 2027 player registration will open nationwide on the first day of the live 13u PGA Jr. League Championship broadcast, and lists October 15, 2026 as the date coaches can begin creating 2027 programs. We read that page on October 11, 2026.

On the same day, PGA Jr. League’s national site carried no 2027 registration announcement. Its How It Works page still describes a typical year in which player registration opens in January and February, and PGA’s registration help page says player registration typically opens in early January. For 2026, the national site announced open registration on January 14, 2026. Treat November 13 as the date one Section has published, and confirm it on the Find a Program page when the day comes.

A local program does not have to open on the national date. The registration help page says a program may not appear because registration in the area is not open yet or the coach is still finalizing plans, that new programs are published throughout the year, and that each program has a registration close date set by its coach. A program can also fill: registration closes automatically once it reaches its maximum number of players.

Spring and summer are the main seasons, and the same page says many coaches also offer fall programs and winter simulator sessions. So a program near you may take registrations at a different time of year.

How to find a local program

Use PGA Jr. League’s own Find a Program page. The registration help page says you can search by location, PGA Coach name or facility name. When we opened it on October 11, 2026, each listing showed:

  • the program’s dates and its name;
  • the division and the age range that program accepts;
  • the program fee per player;
  • the facility, the town and the coach;
  • the registration status, such as a register-by date, “Registration Closed”, “Access Code Required” or “Club Membership Required”.

To register, an adult guardian logs in to a MyPGA account or creates one, then enters the player’s details. If no program appears near you, the help page suggests checking back regularly and contacting the course. For a returning player, ask the coach what is planned.

Questions worth asking the coach before you register:

  • Is registration open, and if not, when will it open?
  • What ages does this program take in each division?
  • What is the program fee, and what does it cover?
  • How many practices and games are there, and on which days?
  • Does it need an access code or a club membership?

What it costs: national membership and the local program fee

There are two separate fees, and only one of them is the same everywhere.

The national membership. Every player must join the #GameChanger Club. On October 11, 2026, How It Works and PGA’s GameChanger Club help page listed it at $120 per player. The help page says the membership runs for one calendar year, January through December, and is paid once per calendar year even if the player joins more than one season or program. It covers access to local league play, a custom team uniform and team kit, and partner discounts.

  • Register every later program with the same MyPGA account. The help page warns that a different account may be charged the $120 again.
  • PGA’s refund policy says the membership fee is refundable until the coach submits the team kit order, and non-refundable after that.

The local program fee. The coach charges a separate program fee, which PGA’s pages also call the coaching fee. How It Works says it varies by location and is listed for each program on the Find a Program page. The help pages add that it may be collected online at registration or paid directly to the coach, that a separate fee applies to each program a player joins, and that refunds of it are decided by the coach. There is no national figure for this fee, so read it off the program’s own listing and ask the coach what it covers.

Financial help. PGA Jr. League’s January 2026 announcement says more than 3,000 scholarships were awarded the previous year to children who qualified for financial assistance or were from a military family. The pages we read do not explain how to apply, so ask the coach or PGA Jr. League support.

None of these pages says whether $120 is the 2027 amount. The GameChanger Club help page says the membership is valid for the calendar year in which it is purchased, and it does not say how that applies to a 2027 program registered in November 2026. Ask that before you pay. For the wider budget, our junior golf cost guide covers where a season of team golf sits next to lessons, equipment and course access.

What is published for 2026 and what is not confirmed for 2027

As PGA’s pages stood on October 11, 2026
Item2026 season2027 season
Player registrationAnnounced open on January 14, 2026Opens November 13, 2026, per the Tri-State PGA Section. Not yet on the national site
National membership$120 per playerNot stated
Age divisions9u, 13u and 17uNot restated for 2027
Local program feeSet by each coachSet by each coach, once a program is published
Conditions of Play2026 edition publishedNo 2027 edition published

Sources: PGA Jr. League, Player Registration Open Now for 2026 Programs and How It Works; Tri-State PGA Section, PGA Jr. League; PGA of America, 2026 Conditions of Play.

Nothing in the 2027 column is a forecast. Where it says not stated, the organizer had not published it, and this page does not carry a 2026 figure forward in its place.

How a season works

How It Works says a season typically consists of about six games, plus practices and other events the coach schedules. A game is four two-player matches of nine holes each and typically takes about two and a half hours. Time commitments vary by program, so ask the coach for the practice and game schedule before you register.

The same page lays out a typical year: spring and summer recreational seasons from March to June, and fall and winter recreational seasons from July to December. Families are encouraged to take part as spectators and volunteers in their local league.

All-Stars, and how it sits beside other programs

Recreational league play is the program this page describes. Separately, PGA Jr. League runs an All-Star Season for eligible 13u and 17u players, which leads from All-Star Play Days and Sectionals to Regionals and a national championship. It has its own age, mileage and participation rules, and the 9u division is not part of it. Our PGA Jr. League All-Stars guide covers who is eligible and how teams advance.

If you are still choosing a first program, our PGA Jr. League vs First Tee vs U.S. Kids Golf and Youth on Course vs First Tee vs PGA Jr League guides set the options side by side. If the question is a first individual event instead of a team season, see getting started with junior tournaments.

Your next move

Find a program near you

Search PGA Jr. League's own program finder to see each local program's dates, age range, fee and registration status.

Find a program near you(Official source), opens in a new tab

Frequently asked questions

What is PGA Jr. League?
PGA Jr. League is team golf for players ages 17 and younger. Players join a local team led by a PGA or LPGA coach and play two-person scramble matches over nine holes against other teams in their league. PGA Jr. League says all skill levels are welcome and no prior golf experience is required.
When does PGA Jr. League registration open for 2027?
The Tri-State PGA Section says 2027 player registration opens nationwide on November 13, 2026. PGA Jr. League's national site had not announced a 2027 date when we checked on October 11, 2026, and its general pages describe registration as typically opening in January. A local program can open later than the national date, so check the Find a Program page and ask the coach.
How much does PGA Jr. League cost?
There are two fees. The national #GameChanger Club membership was listed at $120 per player per calendar year on October 11, 2026, and it covers a team uniform and team kit. The local program fee is set by each coach, varies by location and is shown on each program's listing on the Find a Program page. PGA's pages did not say whether $120 applies to 2027.
What ages can play PGA Jr. League?
There are three divisions: 9u, 13u and 17u. PGA's registration help page says a player must be 9 or younger, 13 or younger, or 17 or younger on July 31 of the program year. The pages we read set no national minimum age. For 13u the minimum is set by the facility, so confirm it with the coach.
Does my child need golf experience to join PGA Jr. League?
No. PGA Jr. League's How It Works page says all skill levels are welcome and no prior golf experience is required, and it sets no experience requirement for the 13u or 17u divisions. A local program can still limit who registers, for example with an access code or a club membership requirement, so check the listing.
How do I find a PGA Jr. League program near me?
Use the Find a Program page on PGA Jr. League's site. Each listing shows the program's dates, division, accepted age range, program fee, coach and registration status. If nothing appears near you, registration in your area may not be open yet. PGA's help page suggests checking back regularly and contacting the course.
What is the PGA Jr. League 9u division?
It is the youngest of the three divisions, new in 2026, for players who are 9 or younger on July 31 of the program year. PGA Jr. League describes it as a fun-focused, recreational league with shortened holes. The 2026 rule summary says 9u is local league play only, with no All-Star season.
Is PGA Jr. League competitive?
The local league is recreational. Eligible 13u and 17u players can also be picked for a league's All-Star team, which can advance through Sectionals and Regionals to the PGA Jr. League Championship. The All-Star Season has its own age, mileage and participation rules.

Keep reading

Sources and review

What it covers
PGA Jr. League's national program description and program finder, the PGA of America's registration and membership help pages and the 2026 Conditions of Play, plus the Tri-State PGA Section's announcement of the 2027 player-registration opening, each read on October 11, 2026.
Checked

What this page cannot tell you

  • The November 13, 2026 opening for 2027 player registration comes from one PGA Section's page. PGA Jr. League's national site had not announced 2027 registration when this page was checked.
  • The 2027 membership fee, age divisions and Conditions of Play had not been published. The $120 membership is the amount PGA's pages listed on October 11, 2026 for the current calendar year. None of them says what the 2027 membership will cost.
  • Each local coach sets the program fee, the ages a program accepts, its schedule and its registration dates. This page cannot tell you any of them for a program near you.
  • This page covers the recreational league. The All-Star Season has separate eligibility rules, covered in our All-Stars guide.

Verify this season. These terms are reissued on a cycle. Confirm the current version with the governing body above before you rely on it for a deadline or a decision.